Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

The Football Widows Club September 14, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 11:06 pm

 

football

 

It’s that time of year again, the season when I become what I like to refer to as a “football widow”. Yes, technically I am still a happily married woman, but every Sunday and Monday (and occasional Thursday) for the next few months, I am temporarily dead to him while he glues into the TV and becomes some sort of beer-guzzling, hooting and hollering maniac.

Happily, we have a small network of friends-all couples- that like to get together on Sundays for the game and hang out. While the guys watch the game, the wives drink wine, gossip, laugh, and eat good food. So last night I made mushrooms stuffed with parmesan, cream cheese and italian sausage  and a really yummy white sangria to bring. My friend Beth made her awesome reuben dip, which is to die for. It’s got sourkraut, cream cheese, swiss cheese and corned beef in it. Normally I think sourkraut is an abomination, but I will make an exception for this delicious stuff.  So, all in all, I guess football isn’t that bad when you get to hang out with all your girlfriends and eat, drink, and be merry, and all that good stuff.

Quote of the night: (when the young daughter of the hostess was heading off to bed) “Mom, when I grow up I’m gonna have football parties so I can drink wine and talk with all the girls”.

 

Leave a Reply

