Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

Another Thrifty Tuesday September 22, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 8:48 pm
Part of today’s haul:
teapot set with creamer and sugar

teapot set with creamer and sugar

milk glass decanter

milk glass decanter

strawberry shortcake glass

strawberry shortcake glass

Fisher Price "happy apple"

Fisher Price "happy apple"

mid century modern bowls

mid century modern bowls

Oh, my! It was a wonderful day in the thrifting neighborhood! I think my favorite find of the day was a giant flamingo-pink vintage afghan for $2.75. It is so soft and cuddly and I loooove it’s color! I washed it as soon as I got home and it is wrapped around  me now as I type.

Other finds today: 6 orange melmac teacups with 6 white melmac saucers, set of six crocheted potholder-four of which are pink and white, the other two are beige and yellow, a 1960’s  red, white and blue enamel flower pin, an orange checkered gingham apron, two crocheted potholders that look like corn cobs, and one potholder that looks like an orange slice.

I also picked up a orange-lidded glass decanter/pitcher imprinted with “Tang”. My mom says her mom used to serve them Tang all the time when she was a kid; it was like a staple of her childhood. At the same place I snagged the Tang pitcher, I also got a melmac creamer and sugar set that was white with a blue lid, a vintage Raggedy Ann and Andy bed cover/blanket with white tassel trim edges (not a huge fan of the cartoon but this blanket is old and really cute; it would be a good picnic blanket!) and a shabby chic-looking candleholder made of painted metal in the shape of flowers.

It almost feels sinful to buy this much but I then I remind myself that I do sell some of it. Not as much as I should, but still! At least I am supporting my own habit. I really don’t spend much if any of my paycheck on my vintage habit anymore. I wish I could do it as a job, but then if I depended on it, it probably wouldn’t be as fun anymore. At least that’s what I tell myself!

 

Leave a Reply

