Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

A Type of Beauty September 26, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 11:50 pm

brunette

I love the photo above; it is from a book I found called “the Perfect Woman”, copyright 1903. The books is described as “A book giving full information on all the mysterious and complex matters pertaining to Women”.  I’ll have to scan in some more of the pictures and ridiculously outdated medical advice some day when I have the time.

Anyways, when I saw that photogragh with it’s title (Brunette-A Type of Beauty) I had to chuckle. I am in the process of growing out my golden locks-I’ve been a blonde forever-and it’s been very, very hard for me to keep from caving in and having my hair stylist/sister dye them back! My natural hair color is more of a light brown, a shade I haven’t seen since high school. I guess for some reason I feel less attractive as a brunette, but I really am sick of bleaching it out and I’d like to learn to just appreciate my natural hair color for once in my life. So yeah…it was kind of nice to read those words. Brunette-a type of beauty. I think that’s a good way to look at it.

 

Leave a Reply

