Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

The Day After September 30, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 8:21 pm
Here’s a few of my finds from yesterday, including the aforementioned fondue pot:
sweet floral fabric...not sure if it's vintage but it's still cute!

sweet floral fabric...not sure if it's vintage but it's still cute!

groovy 70's fondue pot
groovy 70’s fondue pot
Big-Eyed Ballerina 1960's print

Big-Eyed Ballerina 1960's print

1950's painted wooden trays with lovestruck poodles in Paris

1950's painted wooden trays with lovestruck poodles in Paris

More poodles in love

More poodles in love

 

vintage mod daisy plates, set of five

vintage mod daisy plates, set of five

Also found but not pictured: cast iron owl trivets, set of 5 for $1.50, circular gold-tone locket with rhinestone horseshoe (inside was 2 pictures, one an elderly African American lady, the picture probably taken in the 80’s, the other a faded black-and-white photograph of a small child-possibly the old lady as a child-looked to be taken in the 1920’s). For 35 cents I found a pair of clip-on earrings with gaudy fuchsia beads.

At the same place,  I found a set of 2 seaside blue stacking mugs for 39 cents each and a stack of melmac bowls in Neapolitan ice cream colors for 79 cents. Also, (although they are still stowed in my car because it was such an impulse buy that even I am slightly ashamed) I bought more vintage luggage, a whole $4 worth. Even though I rarely travel and when I do, I have a lovely modern suitcase with wheels and a squeaky-clean interior. I bought one hot pink  faux leather suitcase… as well as her bright purple sister. I think they’re 1970’s-80’s, judging by the strap across each one with grommets that make it look like a rockstar’s belt. What I’ll do with these, I’ll never know. I guess this is what is referred to as “Buyer’s Remorse”. Maybe I can sell them before anyone sees them and asks why I have day-glo luggage in my car!

 

4 Responses to “The Day After”

  1. mom Says:

    Ha! I found you! Love your blog and the way you write. I had a long reply written once and lost it. Hopefully you will get this one. Love, Mom

  2. Nicole Says:

    You are so cute you’d make a great character in my next book. My thriftstore owner friend, welcome to Carrie’s Kitsch-In

  3. GaGa Says:

    How adorable and quite cute I might add. I love the ecclectic combination of your collection of treasures. You go Girl! Just remember “one man’s junk is another man’s treasure.”


Leave a Reply

