Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

Domestic Diva in Training December 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 10:45 pm

One of my New Year’s resolutions this year is to cook more! (I start making resolutions before Christmas is even over; the concept of a clean slate is very thrilling to me). I want to not only cook more but to cook new and exciting things! Well, maybe not too exciting or my husband will look at me as if I’ve grown an extra head. He doesn’t eat cheese (note:”does not” not “cannot”) or cream-based foods or all that other lovely stuff that clogs arteries and fattens thighs and makes me inexplicably happy.

I received the Pioneer Woman’s new cookbook as well as a crock-pot recipe book and my husband got the new Jamie Oliver cookbook from me, so we have plenty of recipes to choose from. The other morning I baked some Artisan bread from “Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day” and I am an instant convert. I want to start baking my own bread every week. It is so simple and delicious. Overall, the time and effort of preparing food at home is so worth it!

Generally, we feel like crap when we eat out too often and the quality of the food is so inferior to what we are used to at home. The convenience issue is what usually drives us to eat out in the first place, so I am making a pledge to myself to keep my cabinets and fridge stocked with the foods necessary to whip up easy and healthy meals. Donna Reed I am not, but that doesn’t matter. My poor husband has to be sick of cooking all the time. I am determined to become a better cook in 2010!

 

5 Responses to “Domestic Diva in Training”

  1. Cristie Says:

    What a darling blog! I have both of the cookbooks you just got- you’re going to love them- happy New Year!

    • swankylady Says:

      Thank you so much! I love both of them so far. It’s going to be hard chosing what to make first.
      Happy New Year to you as well & thanks again for your sweet comment. 🙂

  2. Paul Says:

    Eat Less Chesse 😉

  3. Nicole Says:

    I like easy recipes, I have a really good one for Green Beans Amandine and Tuna Burgers!!

  4. swankylady Says:

    I don’t know what Green Beans Amandine is but it sounds fancy. We’ll hafta have a recipe swap!


Leave a Reply

