Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

Just Stuff January 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 9:11 pm

This Tuesday was not the usual all-out thrifting bonanza, as I had other more important things on the agenda. I had a funeral to prepare myself for and even though shopping is a form of therapy for me, my heart just wasn’t in it that day. I only went to two stores before my mom/shopping accomplice and I called it quits for the day.

The pictures above are not from Tuesday’s haul, just some stuff I have had for a while.  On Tuesday I found: vintage Las Vegas pinochle cards, a mod little mug, a folksy floral metal recipe box, and a vintage Chicago cubs thermos for the hubs. It wasn’t a spectacular spread but I didn’t really care. It’s just stuff.

As much as I love it- love hunting for it, love finding it, love the collecting and displaying and sharing of it it- it IS just stuff. Friends and family members are my ultimate collection in this short life. I want to fill my home with loved ones and my shelves with pictures and memories. I don’t really care if I have the best of anything except for the best of friends and I know that wherever I go in life, home is where they are, these wonderful people that fill my life with meaning. Everything else is just stuff.

 

One Response to “Just Stuff”

  1. Nicole Says:

    How right you are dear cousin, how right you are… 🙂


Leave a Reply

