Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

Hair Despair January 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 7:24 pm

Well, today I decided to take a beauty risk and purchase a box of hair color I’d been wanting to try forever, a beautiful shade of light auburn. The color was alluringly named “spiced tea”.  My friend Becky came over to assist me; she’s been coloring her dark locks a slightly darker shade for years and she always looks wonderful.

There were those in my life who had tried to warn me of the perils of box hair dye. My hair stylist sister, my mother, random people on the street. Well, maybe not that last one. Somehow, despite my own self doubts, I thought it would all work out and I’d end up with gorgeous red hair ala Joan from the TV series Mad Men:

instead, I am now channeling LeeLoo from The Fifth Element:

Reality’s a bee-yatch.

 

Leave a Reply

