Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

A Sunshiny Day…And A Rant January 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 1:05 am
vintage drink pitcher

ceramic owl canister/planter

cute mod retro stacking mugs

more cool stacking mugs

floral tin recipe box

simple but lovely white lotus bowls

Pictured above are several of my finds from earlier this week, but sadly not even half of my entire haul. I can’t seem to keep up with all of the stuff I’ve been buying. 

Fortunately, there was finally a tiny bit of sunshine this morning (this made the local morning news) and I was able to take a few photos. I hope to have a few new things in my shop by the end of the week. Yay for sun!

Today I hit just a couple of my favorite thrifting spots and came home with a smaller haul than usual, which I was quite all right with. Today I found: more atomic blue & green plates (unsure of the pattern name) that I’ve started collecting for myself, a yellow checkered vintage thermos, a small milk glass compote, a large milk glass compote, a shoebox full of vintage matchbooks, a set of four tiny glasses with gold lion crests on them and a kitschy Hawaii bamboo drink tray.

Also, on an unrelated note, I cannot believe how Goodwill’s clothing prices have really gone up. Some of the illogical price hikes on certain items truly baffle me.  Today I saw a used- no tags- Daisy Fuentes dress for $19.99. This is clothing line that retails at KOHL’S, not some high-end designer store, and the online clearance prices for her dresses are around $26.99. I saw several other dresses that were cute -but again, nothing designer- priced for $9.99. I also saw worn and scuffed Walmart brand shoes marked up to $8.99 because they were somewhat trendy. (shoes are regularly $4.99). I can understand pricing some specialty items/brand new items a bit higher than the standard prices, but it is getting outrageous!  When you can get cute clothes on clearance at department stores for less than you can at Goodwill, something  is not right. I can tell you one thing, I will not longer donate my clothing and shoes to Goodwill after seeing what they are doing with their prices. I’ll go to Salvation Army or smaller second hand stores with my donations where they’ll be sold for a fair price.

I know the tone of what I wrote might seem angry, but I’m not mad, just astounded. I truly think they are taking advantage of people, people who might not know any better. I am a true thrifter, meaning that I know a good deal when I see one. Do I also buy a bunch of stuff I don’t really need? Yes. Do I have that luxury? Yes. Some people don’t. For some people, shopping second hand isn’t something they do for fun once a week on their day off. It’s a necessity. I almost feel like sending a formal complaint to someone at Goodwill Industries but then I really will be an angry old lady!

  
 

2 Responses to “A Sunshiny Day…And A Rant”

  1. This is really great information. I have found that there is a lot of lnteresting information on the internet about fashion issues therefore I appreciate your great content. Great website. Personally I
    love Vintage clothing as those are beautiful and unique and can offer terrific value depending on the piece. Vintage clothes are also a cost-effective way to celebrate yesterday’s fashions while creating your own personal style.

    • swankylady Says:

      Thank you for your sweet compliments! I agree; vintage clothing is the way to go as far as value and unique style. Vintage dresses from the 1940’s through the late 1960’s are my biggest clothing weakness. I only wish I had the sort of job where I could actually wear vintage dresses…I’d probably wear them every day!


Leave a Reply

