Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

Sun, Moon and Stars January 31, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 4:08 pm

He still buys me pretty flowers 🙂

Yummy local frozen pizza (image via Butch's facebook page)

My baubles from yesterday's mall outing

Enjoying a lazy and leisurely Sunday here in the Swanky Lady household. It is almost three in the afternoon, I am still in my pajamas, and thus far, I have consumed three cups of coffee and one Butch’s frozen pizza (cooked on the hubster’s trusty Pizzazz). For those of you not from Illinois, Butch’s pizza is locally made frozen pizza that I did not care for as a kid but I have grown to love. The white garlic pizza is divine.

Don’t you just love local food treasures? We have Butch’s and Kitchen Cooked Potato chips. I wonder what culinary delights are exclusive to other states that I might be missing because of where I live. Hmmm…I’m pretty sure I think about food entirely too much.

Last night was fun; I was able to get together with my two besties for a birthday celebration. We started out with dinner and drinks at a local downtown café’/bar and ended up walking around the mall afterwards to burn off some of our calories. The three of us spotted a clearance sale on what I call “junk jewelry” and we speed walked toward the bright promising sign with all the swiftness and urgency of fashonistas at a sample sale. Not one of us in our little group can resist the glitter and shine-not to mention the affordable price tag- of costume jewelry.

As often happens when we shop together, all three of us reached for the same jeweled owl pendant necklace. When we were young, we would have bickered over who saw it first. At a time when we thought our fashion and personal style defined us so completely, it seemed a crime to all three own and wear the *gasp*  same thing!  Now we see something cool we know the other two would like, we point it out. It’s funny how after all of these years, we still like so many of the same things, even though we are as different as the sun, moon, and stars. That is how I know we have a friendship that will stand the test of time-we grow older but we never grow apart. We may not see each other for months at a time but we can always pick up just where we left off. The Three Amigos, or perhaps even The Three Stooges. Whatever you want to call us, just call us friends for life.

 

2 Responses to “Sun, Moon and Stars”

  1. Shandi Says:

    my freaking owl necklace has no mirror! Its defective! Now I need a green one….

  2. swankylady Says:

    haha, that stinks, dude! I want a green one,too. And the amber colored one. One in every color wouldn’t hurt….


Leave a Reply

