Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

Finds of The Week March 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 8:48 pm

sunny yellow vintage straw purse

orange melmac cups with white plates

awesomely 80's purse

tiny brass whale

I walked away with some fun little finds this week: a pastel pink and blue afghan which I have not yet decided to keep or list on Etsy,  some pastel 1950’s chiffon nighties in sweet candy colors, a giant red suitcase for storing dress-up clothes for my niece when she gets old enough, and best of all…drumroll, please…a hutch!

Today at work my co-worker turned to me and said “Yesterday I saw a cabinet hutch at the Salvation Army; you ought to go check it out on your lunch break.” So I ran to my car, sandwich in hand, and sped down the street to the thrift store. I was speed walked to the furniture section and saw it immediately. It was huge and hard to miss!

It was the perfect mid century shape and style, with lots of shelving and glass cabinets for display above. The sideboard-style bottom cabinet has wooden drawers in the middle and two cabinets on the sides with doors covered in that woven wicker-ish material you often see in 1950s record player cabinets. It was under a $100, slightly over that with tax, and paint and new hardware will cost me under $50. It’s not the exact image I had floating around in my scatterbrain, but it’s a really cool piece of furniture. I know with a little updating it will be better than I had imagined!  I plan on painting it and possibly replacing the wicker  portion of the doors with glass or panels of some sort of textured material similar to wainscoting. I can’t wait to store and display all my pretty pyrex and vintage glasses and dishes!

 

2 Responses to “Finds of The Week”

  1. Nicole Says:

    sweet!!!!! Hooray for hutches! I think that image of you running with sandwich in hand will make it into my next book 🙂

  2. swankylady Says:

    hehe, I am such a dork. You have no idea how excited I was. I practically ran up to the counter with the price tag in my clutches. I didn’t want anyone else to steal it out from under me!


Leave a Reply

