Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

Have them then! Have them where they belong! July 5, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 6:59 pm

happiness in a candy

Heathcliff! *sigh*

It’s been a wonderful holiday weekend full of old movies, candy, fireworks, sweet tea vodka, bonfires, sizzling steaks and snow cones! And a tiny bit of thrifting thrown into the mix. I had to run to the store today and happened to see the “50% off!” sign in the window of my neighborhood Salvation army store. So naturally, I had to stop in. And when I didn’t find any treasures, the only natural thing to do was to travel five minutes away to the other S.A. to make sure I wasn’t missing anything.

It wasn’t a stellar trip, due to a large amount of sale-seeking folks like myself, but I did find a large square of vintage  fabric in a bold floral pattern, a mid century metal wire bread basket (I never keep them but I can never pass them up when they’re cheap) and an awesome framed 1950’s print of a kitschy blue poodle with a bouffant and eyelashes! All for under $3! I was quite pleased.

On the way home, I stopped by Hollywood Video to check out the going-out-of-business sale. There were all kinds of weirdos in there. Creepy pony-tailed hermity kinds of guys, with armloads of movies. I ended up buying 7 movies for $18-something. Not bad. I wonder how creepy and hermity I looked….

I decided to head home after that because I was afraid of my DVDs melting in the hot car. Some rad records I bought last week with my cousin melted in the car yesterday and I cried a bucket of tears and had to be hospitalized from my emotional anguish. Ok, the last bit was a lie but I was pretty bummed. I was going planning to play the Elvis Christmas record for my younger sis when she visits at Christmas. She’s apeshit for Elvis. I came home and collapsed in my bed and watched Sunshine Cleaning while I noshed on Happy Cola gummy candy. It was sort of difficult to eat during certain scenes but it seems nothing can stop me from gorging on candy, not even blood and brain matter.

 

4 Responses to “Have them then! Have them where they belong!”

  1. Nicole Says:

    That sucks about your records! But it sounds like you got some stellar deals otherwise 🙂 What movies did you get? I want to know!

    Nicole

  2. swankylady Says:

    I got Sunshine Cleaning, An Education, The Brothers Bloom, Love Happens, The Young Victoria, Slumdog Millionaire, and Amelia. I’d seen Slumdog before but the rest I’ve never watched before. So if I don’t like any of them, they were under $3 a piece, less than the cost of a rental.

  3. swankylady Says:

    agreed 🙂 Well, as my official dog/house sitter, feel free to watch that or any movie you want!


Leave a Reply

