Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

Tilt-A-Girl April 29, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 2:46 pm

I suffer from a rare behavioral disorder called Figurine Collectitus

It’s been a good day so far, even though it involved no thrifting or vintage shopping of any kind. I underwent my second IUI this month. Had some awkward moments, namely the part where my RE motioned both the nurse and my husband over to check out my tilted uterus. But hopefully all the awkwardness and money spent will be worth it and it will actually work this time. *fingers crossed*

After the procedure, we walked around Hoerr Nursery and picked out plants and shrubs for when we are ready to landscape in the next couple of weeks. I fell in love with a couple of trees, especially the twisted lavender Redwood and the Red Dragon Japanese Maple. I wouldn’t mind another magnolia tree, either. It was a gorgeous spring day and perfect for walking around outside, holding hands like two dorky lovebirds.

After walking around for a while, it was only 11:00 but we were hungry so we grabbed lunch at TGI Friday’s. I’m not a huge fan of the place but I love their fried green beans and wasabi ranch dipping sauce. I also had a huge salad and iced tea. The iced tea put me in the mood for sun tea, so after we got home I dug out our ice tea jar and put some out on the deck to brew. Now I’m in comfy clothes and ready to veg. I’m gonna watch Twilight Eclipse and sip Fresca, the beverage choice of eighty- year- olds… and also twenty-eight year-olds who collect cutesy figurines and watch TCM instead of MTV. *sigh* I used to be cool, I swear.

Side note: here is a peek of the dress I told you about, but the pictures do not do it justice. Especially because the belt is hanging off the side by a thread and looks weird. Also, the dress looks cooler on someone, but I did not feel like modeling it 🙂

you can see part of my globe collection in this one

a closer look

 

4 Responses to “Tilt-A-Girl”

  1. Nicole Says:

    What are you talking about, you are very cool!!! PS that dress is so cute!!!

  2. swankylady Says:

    hehe, thanks coz. Love ya!

  3. Yeah, MTV sucks now, though…It should be called Monotonous TV instead of Music TV. TCM is awesome, whatchu talkin bout Willis? I am glad that now both of us can enjoy our love of the classics together!
    P.S. your blog is cool

  4. swankylady Says:

    hehe, thanks doll! I am glad you like it. I know- you have loved classic movies for as long as I can remember. I always liked them but didn’t have the knowledge of all the films like you did. But now I am hooked on TCM and I like all the little introductions they have at the beginning of each movies. :0


Leave a Reply

