Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

Ode to Meat and Food in General July 12, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 10:43 am

Aren’t these vintage photos fabulous? I scanned them in from an old Eckrich advertisement pamphlet. There are times when I think I could easily be a vegetarian, but pretty much the whole month of summer is not one of those times. After a day of swimming and “day drinkin” there is nothing better than grilled meat, whether it is a New York strip steak or a hot dog with chili and diced onions.

I’ve been trying to catch those summer rays and enjoy as much of the wonderfulness of the season as possible. It seems these summer months always slip by so quickly while the rest of the colder months just drag on and on. I’ve had a good couple of weeks, despite other darker things going on in my life. I just have to keep on living, enjoying the little things and trying to find reasons every day to keep on going. Some of my little things have been:

*swimming on my days off and getting exercise and a nice glow*sipping cheap blackberry wine by said pool*trying Indian food for the very first time and loving it!*making zucchini bread*finding new and cheap beauty products from ALDI (!!) of all places-they have a moisturizing face wash and eye cream that are just amazing and seem like higher-end products*dark chocolate with chili extract..yummm*going for a spontaneous hike in forest park nature center with the Mr.*using fresh basil from my plant in culinary creations of all sorts, including the best tomato and cheese tortellini salad known to man*

I just realized alot of my “little things” included food…

 

 

5 Responses to “Ode to Meat and Food in General”

  1. Nicole Says:

    Ha ha I love your use of “little things”, (if you’ve read the passage in my book about Sophia and Will’s “little things” you’ll know what I mean)

    True, sometimes it is the little things that get you through, like pennies from Heaven.

  2. swankylady Says:

    yeah, I have read that, Coley, I put that in there for you 😉

  3. swankylady Says:

    PS. reading your book has been one of my “little things” this week!

    • Nicole Says:

      Aw shucks, An hour on the phone with you laughing about rolling on the floor in dollar bills and beads is one of my “little things”!!! Love you Cuz

  4. swankylady Says:

    haha, good times. Love you, too 🙂


Leave a Reply

