Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

This aint no stinkin glad game September 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 11:41 pm

Above are some pictures of my adventure in making watermelon margaritas a couple weeks ago. Basically, I pureed cubed seedless watermelon in batches and strained it over a sieve into a pitcher. The first night I made them, I shook watermelon juice, a shot of tequila, half a shot of triple sec, and fresh lime juice in my drink shaker and poured into a sugar-rimmed margarita glass full of ice. That night I froze some of the juice in an ice cube tray and the next night I used the cubes plus the aforementioned ingredients to make frozen margaritas in the blender. The margaritas were good both ways, but I think I’m an “on-the-rocks” type of girl nowadays.

I’m also a “crappy blogger” type of girl these days.I just haven’t felt like it. Too many things are in my way. Not to complain but…well, actually I  am gonna complain. (because it’s my blog, damn it) I have a laundry list of things getting me down lately, but the main issues boil down to these:

1. Infertility + weight gain + other health issues= diets that suck and don’t seem to work=bouts of complete denial in which I consume a year’s quota of sugar in one day.

2. A completely diabolical soon-to-be-ex-in-law who is making things nightmarish for my dearly loved family member and for the rest of us who have to stand by helplessly. And there’s little we can do to help because a friggin ocean separates us.

3. A general dissatisfaction with my occupation and the feeling of being trapped between duty of contributing to household expense and the desire to just quit and follow my little but wonderful dreams.

So, sorry to be a downer, but these are the things that have kept me from blogging lately. I haven’t felt much passion for anything I usually love, except perhaps for margaritas. (kidding…sort of). I am going to try my darndest to get back into the swing of things. Tomorrow I am going to start my day with a workout and a green smoothie (recipe to follow). Hopefully, I can get back to my Pollyana-ish self sooner than later.

let's all play "the Glad Game"!

 

 

5 Responses to “This aint no stinkin glad game”

  1. Nicole Says:

    I’d be happy to spin you some sunshine whenever you need it! Also with regards to our healthy Mexican Monday Night we have planned, we should take a walk around the block to even out our calorie intake! Or have a dance party in the living room…or both:)

  2. Well, I for one am glad you have not decided to Pollyanna whats going on with you!!! Not that I want you to be down by any means, nothing would make me happier than seeing you skinny with a baby in your arms, your ex in-law dead by the side of the road, or just seriously maimed and you with your own show like American Pickers. So, now maybe the best friend in me will have to Pollyanna for a minute, but I know good things are coming your way!!! You cannot linger so long in the dark, eventually some light is coming your way and when it does come its going to light up the whole damn city!

  3. swankylady Says:

    Aww, thanks you guys!! 🙂 Just your kind words cheer me up immensely. Coley, that’s an excellent idea, maybe we can try roller skating if I can find my other pair. Shandi, you seriously cracked me up with “nothing would make me happier than seeing you skinny with a baby in your arms, your ex in-law dead by the side of the road, or just seriously maimed” hehe, yr a funny one. I hope you’re right…I’m waiting for that day to come.

  4. Mandy Says:

    Love you! Wish we all had an easy button we could push and make life alot more simpler and wonderful. I’d push it 🙂 Anyway, I’m “glad” I have you as my friend. & Am here for you!

  5. swankylady Says:

    aww, thanks, Manders. 🙂 I’m glad I have you in my life to encourage me. Love ya!


Leave a Reply

