Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

Gotta Keep On Keepin’ On November 15, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 10:18 pm

So yeah, only a true thriftster shops for a funeral outfit at the Salvation Army. I didn’t find anything I was looking for, which was black pants and a nice dressy top. I did however, find a vintage leather jacket in a dark eggplant hue for $10, a nice basic black sweater for $3.80, a ruffly fawn colored cover-up with the tags still on for $4, and some books for $4.

The books were: Push by Sapphire (also known as the film Precious), Cherry by Mary Karr, Shadow of the Dolls by Rae Lawrence, (a sequel to Jacqeline Susann’s Valley of the Dolls) and I am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced, the true memoir of a child bride in Yemen. So yeah, I’m never the most focused shopper…obviously.   I guess I’ll have to try again for funeral clothes tomorrow, after work. My mom has some gift cards to Kohl’s she said we could use, so maybe I’ll find something then. After we shop, we’re going to gather up all the photos we can of Grandpa and make photo boards for the service.

When we were looking through old photos the Sunday before Grandpa passed, we came across a few gems. Here’s one of my favorites, my mom as a sweet little munchkin with her cat:

Not bad for a picture of a picture, huh?  Also, I found and photographed with my phone the faux Glamor Shots my Uncle’s then-wife Marilyn took of us when we were about 13! They are hilarious. I promise to post them here later. 😉

 

4 Responses to “Gotta Keep On Keepin’ On”

  1. Nicole Says:

    Aw gotta love it! Hey we should post pics of our fashion shows (especially the one where we made Drew a school marm and gave him boobs!)

  2. I read I am Nujood aged 10 and divorced, its good. Sad, obviously, but good. That picture of your mom is cute, but the cat looks a little perturbed…

  3. swankylady Says:

    Yeah, I figured it would be. I have to finish The Girl With the Dragon tattoo first. I know, right? I think that’s part of why I like it-she seems so content but the cat looks like “Get yer paws off me!!”


Leave a Reply

