Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

It’s Ramen noodles for a week now November 28, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 10:35 pm

Today was a fun mini-road trip day spent with my husband! #16 on my 30 before 30 list was to take at least 2 mini-road trips so I am halfway to this goal. Yay!

We left the house around 8:30 this morning and drove to Chicago for a day at IKEA and Trader Joe’s.  We were originally going to spend both today and tomorrow in the city and go to the Shedd Aquarium  and the Field Museum today and the shopping part on Tuesday.

Well, as often happens in life, an unexpected cost came up. Our beloved Chihuahua Jose suffered a disgusting affliction of his behind, which required taking him to the emergency vet on Saturday. The cost of having his anal gland drained and the antibiotics and pain meds came to $120. Also, we will probably have to have him looked at again tomorrow at his regular office because the area in question doesn’t look any better and it seems to really bother him. The vet cost plus the realization that our hotel alone would be $240 (why, I have no earthly idea because we have stayed there before for around $180) forced us to have to chose between the IKEA/Trader Joe’s day or the museum/aquarium day. Naturally, I chose the option that entails shopping.

Here are our main buys:

Fillsta Lamp

Stockholm Blad pillow-we bought 2 for the couch

Mysa Stra comforter-warmth rate 5

Lyckoax duvet cover and pillow cases for the comforter

Fullen storage cabinet for the bathroom. Or so we thought until we got it home and realized our tiny bathroom is too damn tiny. Guess we'll have to put it in the basement when it gets finished...

All in all it was a successful trip. Trader Joe’s yielded such delights as chocolate truffles, microwaveable cheese fondue, artichoke antipasto spread, pretzel bread, edamame hummus, mint chocolate covered coffee beans, chai latte mix, dark chocolate covered almonds with sea salt, and some sauces and udon noodles that Paul picked out. He maybe picked out 3 or 4 things; I was the one who really went crazy in there.

We were back on the road sometime around 3. We made one stop for pizza in some tiny town off the interstate and then headed for home again. We made it back in Peoria by 5:45. Unloading and unpacking all our stuff was like Christmas morning. Taking inventory of all we purchased made me both giddy and slightly guilty. One of my goals is to save money for IVF or adoption so this was a major splurge day. I guess we all need to spoil ourselves once in a while. 😉

*All photos are from the IKEA website*

 

2 Responses to “It’s Ramen noodles for a week now”

  1. I’m jealous!!! I wish we could get away (me and Chris, but I’d like to get away with you and Mandy too) YOu were supposed to buy me and you hose hanging light bolbs that plug into the wall!!! Pinterest has gotten me so excited about my potential room and the kids potential play room that I feel giddy and want to buy buy buy things!!!!

  2. swankylady Says:

    I know, I want to go back and find those hanging lamp cords…couldn’t find them anywhere. Pinterest has that effect on me, too. I should search “man cave” on there to get ideas for Paul’s section of our basement. I already have plenty of ideas for my designated area. I am down for another road trip anytime! 😉


Leave a Reply

