Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

I like smiling. Smiling’s my favorite. December 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 10:44 pm

It’s beginning to look alot like Christmas!  I haven’t always been a lover of Christmas decor (gasp!) but it grows on me a little more every year. I think because I find most modern Christmas stuff boring and unappealing, I never thought I’d attain much stuff to set out each holiday. Then I started picking up the odd little bits and bobbins at the thrift stores and my collections started to form.

I would love to start collecting the glittery Putz houses you see displayed on mantles or under cloches but they are always way overpriced. I’ve seen tutorials online on how to make your own, which might be a fun craft night project.

My newest obsession: DIY ornament wreaths!

(from Better Homes and Gardens)

saw this beauty on Pinterest...not sure of the original source

Apparently, all you need is glass ball ornaments, a wire hanger, a hot glue gun, and ribbon for hanging! Yesterday, I went thrifting with mom and was on the lookout for vintage ornaments. I found a small cardboard box of them for $1 at one stop and several packages for $1 each at another place. I think I have enough for a wreath, maybe even two. I just need to dig around in the abyss of my basement for my hot glue gun.

Ornaments weren’t the only finds yesterday…I picked up some real treasures! Then I received some vintage goodies from my cousin later that night when we exchanged belated birthday gifts with each other. I promise to take pictures of my finds (and my gifts) tomorrow. But for now I am going to go watch TV and drink eggnog with butterscotch schnapps. Don’t judge me.

 

2 Responses to “I like smiling. Smiling’s my favorite.”

  1. Colee Says:

    You can’t be judged, says the girl hopelessly ogling a pair of Tron inspired shoes on the internet

  2. swankylady Says:

    lol, thanks Coley


Leave a Reply

