Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

Books I bought this week and a rant on Plagiarism June 27, 2012

I’ve had it happen before on Etsy. And maybe it’s totally ridiculous that I let it bother me. But sometimes people just copy and paste my descriptions onto their new listing! Both times I discovered the plagiarism completely on accident, so it makes me wonder how many people are just that lazy.

I was checking out a vintage shop that had many really cool items and over 1,000 sales. I was perusing the awesomeness when I came across the same Kokeshi-head bottle I have in my shop. Out of curiosity, I clicked on it to see our differences in pricing and shipping cost. That’s when I noticed she copied and pasted the first line from my listing description, word for word.  “This unique vintage bottle features a wooden Kokeshi-esque wooden head on the lid.” WTF, dude?

The funny thing is, she even copied my typo, which was to write “wooden” twice. HA! It just burns me up when people do this. I realize there is only so many ways to describe the same object but at least TRY, people!

O.k., rant over. I started a new job last week and I love it. The only negative thing is that I don’t get my Tuesdays anymore to thrift; I get the weekends off. The good thing about weekends? Garage sales! I have yet to go to any sales yet. The first week of work was actually an event week and I worked the weekend. But as a result, I have had shortened work days all week! I popped in a couple shops both yesterday and today and scored some amazing finds. More on that later, but for now here are some of the books I found Tuesday for super cheap:

Bacteriology Textbook, 1948. A Miss Betty Lee signed her name on the inside cover.

Microscope Illustration from another bacteriology book, this one copyright 1934.

From The Werner Spalteholz Hand Atlas of Human Anatomy, Volume 2. Undated but probably turn of the century or older.

I Heart You

This and the next two are from a 1958 anatomy book that my awesome friend Larry gifted me.

I just can’t get you outta my head

This is the face of rabies. And it ain’t too pretty.

1945 Edition of one of the best-selling books of all times.

I love Dolly! I bought this for Etsy but I might keep it. I love her kitschy and slighty tacky brand of beauty. She is an icon.

More Dolly picd from this 1978 bio. It smells like smoke and had a grocery list with $3 tucked inside it.

My books paid for themselves! Also, I loved the amount of junk food on this list. Candy apple salad, ritz crackers, graham crackers, cream cheese…a girl after my own heart 🙂

Well, that’s all for now. I brought home more books than this, including some super adorable vintage childrens books, but I couldn’t scan it all in one day. More later!

 

Leave a Reply

