Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

Best Day Ever August 12, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 2:45 pm
Tags: , ,

I had the most wonderful Sunday possible! I got to go to my favorite antique mall and I got to go with my mom and my husband. It’s out in the middle of nowhere and it’s in an old school. Everything there is always priced very reasonably.The Mr. decided to go with us at the last minute and I was super thrilled that he expressed interest in such things. If I can turn him into a bona fide vintage-lover, it will totally justify me bringing home all manner of old and wonderful things.Here are some of our finds:

Come sail away, come sail away….

Another flower pin for my collection, $3

A silly little poodle for my ridiculous collection. It set me back $2.50.

Totally adorable 1950’s glasses. They have a ridged band of colored plastic around them for gripping. The Mr. actually found these for me. They were only $4 for all six!

The cowboy figurine is for a themed nursery, if we ever have a boy. The birds are going on my bookshelf shelf with other similar birdies I have clustered around the photograph of my beloved Grandpa, who I miss every day. He was a bird- watcher extraordinaire. The cowboy was $4, the birds $1.

Amazing geometric lime green & silver glasses. Set of  6 and they came on a caddy! Only $8!

Light-up beer sign that the Mr. picked out. $15. It will be going in the bar area if we ever get off our butts and finish the basement.

Huuuge brass giraffes! I spent $12 on these beautiful creatures.

Here is a reference photo just to show how large these giraffes really are!

So yeah…we went a little overboard. We spent $65 in all, which is not bad considering all we got. Not pictured is a future Christmas present for my sister-in-law, a collectible Pepsi bottle the Mr. picked out, and a mod Japan ashtray that I already put in the shop. The lady ringing us up did a double take at the tag prices on the giraffes and the drinking glasses. They were priced very cheaply, even by that place’s standards!

After shopping our little hearts out, we stopped by my grandparents and visited. We left with armloads of home-grown sweet corn and tomatoes. Then we stopped by Ludy’s, the local bar and burger joint, for a late lunch. My mom and I split a pork tenderloin sandwich, onion rings and fried cauliflower. (obviously, we nixed going the healthy route.)

Once I got home, I took a nap. I haven’t taken a nap since I don’t know when. Then I organized my treaures, took a long evening walk with a friend, came home and made a coconut chocolate milkshake, read some, and went to bed. Seriously the best day I’ve had in a long time. Why can’t they all be like that?

 

3 Responses to “Best Day Ever”

  1. So to start, looking at your post title, it reminds me of a spongebob episode where he sings its the best day ever. Next, i love it all! But i especially love the glasses with the plastic grips! Oh, and i love that styx album, always have! Good shopping lady.

  2. swankylady Says:

    Thanks lady! You know I always look for stuff for you, like rainbow stuff and whales. 😉 Haha, I’ll have to look up that Sponge Bob Song. Doesn’t that Styx song make you think of the dance scene in Freaks and Geeks?


Leave a Reply

