Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

Truth Be Told November 8, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 12:20 am
Tags: , ,

NEW STUFF! I finally got around to listing some items in the shop:

Alice in Wonderland figurine, 1960

Aqua Divided Pottery Dish

Starburst Clip-On Earrings

1950’s pink elephant figurines

Super Cheesy Retro Greeting Cards

retro Turkish saucepots

1960s Playboy Bunny Ice Bucket

VintageTravel Backgammon Set

And that’s still not everything I’ve listed in the past few days! I’ve been a regular listing fool. I took a bunch of photos on Sunday and have been trying to list at least a couple of items per day. I have so much inventory, it’s not even funny. The hardest part is finding good natural light in which to take photos, especially now with the time change. It’s dark when I leave from work and it’s dark when I get home!

I did hit the two Goodwills near me a couple of times in the last week. I found the ice bucket listed above, two polka dot Fire King patio mugs that I will list soon, and some books, all for a reasonable price. Everything else was marked up WAY too high! I saw a little ceramic garden gnome that was marked $2.99 and when I turned him over, he still had the “Everything-for-a-dollar-store” sticker on him. I had to laugh at that one.

Even the Salvation Army is getting a little higher in their pricing. I saw a really adorable IRMI nursery lamp in questionable condition for $10. I kind of wanted it but a ten spot is much more than I spend on one item at a thrift store unless it’s something really special or rare. I have to be careful what I spend on the things I want to keep or I can easily exceed what I make on the things I resell!

Truth be told, I really do keep more of what I buy than I should. Not that that’s any big secret; all you have to do is walk into my house and you can see how much I love vintage. I really need to thin out some of my personal collections but it’s so hard! I form emotional attachments to my things. Does that sound crazy? Yes, I’m certain that sounds crazy….

 

4 Responses to “Truth Be Told”

  1. Colee Says:

    I love how you answered yourself in the last line! It is hard, I don’t think I would have parted so readily with the Alice figure, she’s so cute, you find the best stuff!

  2. swankylady Says:

    Thanks, lady! I think you have some pretty cool stuff, too. Hehe, they say it’s ok to talk to yourself as long as you don’t answer yourself. I guess I have officially gone crazy. I found Alice last time I was out at Eden. I really debated keeping her. If she doesn’t sell, I won’t feel too sad 🙂

  3. why did you list the alice in wonderland figurine???? you should keep that!

    • swankylady Says:

      I know, right? I might if she doesn’t sell soon. I like looking at her. She looks so at home on my bookshelf full of cuteness. 🙂


Leave a Reply

