Swanky Lady Living

Retro style for the modern girl!

1950s Textbooks and other vintage goodness October 28, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — swankylady @ 10:24 pm
Camping under a beautiful aqua sky!

Camping under a beautiful aqua sky!

To properly study for a test, one must be dressed in a sport coat or have a parakeet on one's shoulder. It is the only way.

To properly study for a test, one must be dressed in a sport coat or have a parakeet on one’s shoulder. It is the only way.

I'm not kidding at all when I say that I wish this were my living room!

I’m not kidding at all when I say that I wish this were my living room!

english5 english7 english6 english8 english4

I just love the images in old school textbooks. I found a pair of English in Action book, circa 1955 and 1956, at the thrift store tonight. I popped in after a particularly annoying trip to the post office, involving an irate old man who kept whacking the ground with his cane while exclaiming that his wait was “absolutely ridiculous”.

After that, some retail therapy was in order, and so I made a quick stop to the nearby Salvation Army. I found the textbooks, a 1952 edition of the Diary of Anne Frank, and a beautiful old illustrated book called the Magic Garden, published in 1937 (which I must admit I excitedly bought thinking it was the Secret Garden).

I also found a “God Bless our Camper” decorative plate, which I will probably sell on Etsy, since I have one just like it, and also a commemorative “Men on the Moon” plate complete with the names and cartoon images of the men who landed on the moon in 1969. Because what home is complete without a plate covered in astronauts ?

 

Leave a Reply

